Whirlwinds and Calming Breezes

Life gets busy at times, doesn’t it?  The last few months have felt like a whirlwind.  My attempts at cutting back and creating margin have felt like words spoken amidst a strong breeze and carried away off into the horizon.  And so it goes.

I am reminded that small steps and forward movement do indeed progress make.  Hopefully, I will be soon sharing some of what I have been up to.  Some exciting things have been going on.

One of the things I have been working on intermittently over the last few months is Not Just for the Children, a short blog post for the Charlotte Mason Institute (CMI).  I am honored and humbled to have my thoughts shared with a larger Charlotte Mason community.   Carroll and Andy Smith are such wonderful people and share so much of themselves.  I have found much encouragement at the annual conferences and from the CMI blog.  It feels odd to find myself there amongst the articles I enjoy reading for deeper understanding and inspiration.  My desire is that others may gain some encouragement now from my own words as well.

We are still wrapping up end of year work at our home.  I need to create exams and tackle some household projects, but I see a calm drifting my way.   My face is to the sun, eyes shut, as I anticipate breathing deeply of the gentle, calming breeze.  It is coming.  I smile.

When peace like a river attendeth my way,
when sorrows like sea billows roll;
whatever my lot, thou hast taught me to say,
“It is well, it is well with my soul.”

 It is well with my soul;
it is well, it is well with my soul.

Leave a Reply

